Delegation of Foreign Affairs Committee in the British House of Commons arrives in Taiwan For a Visit

On the evening of November 29th, a cross-party delegation of five members of the Foreign Affairs Committee in the British House of Commons arrived in Taiwan for a visit. They will stay on the island until December 3th.

Alicia Kearns of the Conservative Party, who served as the leader of the delegation and the Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the British House of Commons, said on behalf of the committee that this visit to Taiwan is a top priority for the Foreign Affairs Committee and that maintaining a constructive relationship between the London and Taipei has become even more significant in light of the various challenges to global security and prosperity.

Besides Kearns, the delegation is comprised of Royston Smith from the Conservative Party, Liam Byrne from the Labor Party, Stewart Malcolm McDonald from the Scottish National Party, Neil Coyle with no party affiliation, and staff from the Foreign Affairs Committee Secretariat. All of them were on their first visit to the self-governing island.

While staying in Taiwan, the delegation will meet with President Tsai Ing-wen, Executive Yuan President Su Tseng-chang, the Secretary General of National Security Council Wellington Koo, representatives from the Taiwanese Economic Affairs Ministry and the Mainland Affairs Council. They will hold talks with legislators.

Picture of Aussie Brief News
Aussie Brief News

Go to First Page and Get the Latest News.

Translator: NFSC News
Design&editor: Fusu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *