U.S. Lists Communist China, Iran, 12 Other As Concern For Violations Of Religious Freedom

US Secretary of State Antony Blinken announced on Dec 2nd in Washington that the US designated 12 countries including Communist China, Iran and Russia, as coun-tries of particular concern for severe violation of religious freedom under the Religious Freedom Act.

The 12 countries engaging in or tolerating severe violation of religious freedom include Communist China, Burma, Cuba, Eritrea, Iran, Nicaragua, North Korea, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan. Algeria, the Central African Republic, Comoros and Vietnam were placed on the Special Watch List.

Blinken noted in the statement that governments and non-state actors around the world harass, threaten, jail, and even kill individuals on account of their beliefs; and the US would not stand by in the face of these abuses.

He added Washington would welcome the opportunity to meet with all these governments to discuss concrete steps for their removal from the lists.

The records showed Communist China has been listed as countries of particular concern every year since 1999. In particular, international human rights organizations and western governments have been criticizing Beijing over its mistreatment of Uyghurs and other Muslim ethnic minorities, including forced labor in internment camps. The US has expressed its grave concerns about human rights in Xinjiang region of Communist China and previously accused Beijing of perpetrating genocide.

Picture of Aussie Brief News
Aussie Brief News

Go to First Page and Get the Latest News.

Translator: NFSC News
Design&editor: HBamboo(昆仑竹)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *